Elton John: The Diving Board Tour 2013

CONCERT REVIEW

Date Saturday, November 5, 2013 Venue Dunkin’ Donuts Center Location Providence, Rhode Island Concert #25 Who Went With Me Lennie (friend), Trevor (friend)

Elton John described his then current album, The Diving Board, as his parlor record. That may have explained the stage design on this tour then. Hovering over the stage was a huge chandelier that was quite beautiful. It didn’t do much beyond just hang there but it was impressive. The jumbo screen behind Elton and the band extended down onto the stage floor in what looked like lighted ramps. The show I was able to catch on this tour was in Providence, Rhode Island, at the Dunkin’ Donuts Center and had an intimate feel.

The Diving Board - Wikipedia
Cover of the album, The Diving Board.

My neighbor Lennie joined me for a quick jaunt from Cape Cod to Rhode Island. We met up with my friend Trevor before the show for dinner and then off to the show to take our seats. Or at least we thought they were our seats. Never before being in this huge concert hall, the seating signs were a bit confusing because we thought we were in the right section. So the show began with Funeral For A Friend/love Lies Bleeding and a couple came over and said to us, “these two seats are ours!” The usher came over to assist and looked at our tickets and said, “you two are over one more section!” So, we apologized and rushed over to our correct seats! And we didn’t miss much of the song either (I don’t think Elton had even started playing the piano yet).

This particular show was excellent. Elton was in a very good mood and played a good mix of hits and tossed in some deep tracks like Grey Seal, All The Girls Love Alice, Holiday Inn, Mona Lisa’s and Mad Hatters. He also played for the first time ever I think, Your Sister Can’t Twist (But She Can Rock and Roll). 90’s hits like The One and Believe, made a welcome return to the set list after being dropped for a few years as well. The band was also in top notch form with the same lineup for the most part as the past few tours.

A few new songs from The Diving Board were featured too. These included the eerie and wonderfully haunting Voyeur and the touching Oceans Away. The latter getting a tremendous response due to the serious subject matter shown on the screens: a cemetery of WWII veterans with small white wooded crosses over their graves. Elton explained the meaning of the song and had the audience in the palm of his hand the entire time. I don’t recall a new song getting this type of reaction before. You couldn’t hear a pin drop and no one seemed to take a bathroom break! Bravo for the appreciation of a new song!

My friends Trevor (left) and Lennie (center), before the show!

After the show, while I was waiting for my friends, two experiences happened to me. There was a young man (probably 17 or 18) who was standing near the concession stand waiting for his dad. He had a copy of the album, Captain Fantastic with him and it looked liked it was signed. I asked him about it and he said, he and his dad were in the first couple of rows and he was able to get up to the stage and get Elton to autograph it (Elton was signing autographs for the fans in the first row or so). I said, “you know, I saw someone hand him that album from where I was sitting.” He replied: “I just still can’t believe I have this and he signed it for me.” I was so moved by this because he was actually tearing up a little as he was overcome with joy. I told him, “you now have a wonderful memory and something to treasure for a long long time. I’m really happy for you.”

The next thing that happened was outside the center, where 8-10 college kids were all together and stopped me and asked if I would be so kind to take a quick picture of them. I happily obliged. But I did say to them in a shameless plug: “I’m happy to take your picture but I do have some cards of a show I host every week on WOMR about Elton. Would you take one of my cards first?!” They all laughed and said “sure!” So I handed them my card (I don’t do this show anymore) and then I said: “oh, one more thing, did you all enjoy the show?” They replied “oh my god, yes!!!” I then told them to give me a big smile and their youthful exuberance came through in the picture. They thanked me and I finally set them free!

A great time all ’round and a memorable night for everyone.

David Sigler

Set List

Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding | Bennie and the Jets | Candle in the Wind | Grey Seal | Levon | Tiny Dancer | Holiday Inn | Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters | Believe | Philadelphia Freedom | Goodbye Yellow Brick Road | Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going to Be a Long, Long Time) | Hey Ahab | I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues | The One | Oceans Away | Voyeur | Someone Saved My Life Tonight | Sad Songs (Say So Much) | All the Girls Love Alice | Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me | I’m Still Standing | The Bitch Is Back | Your Sister Can’t Twist (But She Can Rock ‘n Roll) | Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting | Your Song | Crocodile Rock

Leave a comment